Talk to the Veterans Crisis Line now
U.S. flag
An official website of the United States government
ORD only    All VA Research websites

Office of Research & Development

print icon sign up for VA Research updates

Technology Transfer Program Contacts

Please submit all Invention Disclosures to vattid@va.gov.

John J. Kaplan, Ph.D., J.D.

John J. Kaplan, PhD, JD
202-417-5611
John.Kaplan@va.gov

Director, Technology Transfer Program

 Ryan Davis, JD
Ryan Davis, JD
202-632-7554
Ryan.Davis7@va.gov

Deputy Director for Policy and Operations:
Development and management of TTP policy and initiatives. Program-level management of VA's IP portfolio, agreement and license compliance. Development and oversight of business processes. Acquisition of business intelligence tools and information systems.

Click on the states to view Technology Transfer Specialists by region.

Technology Transfer Specialists by region

Technology Transfer Specialists by Region

Each Technology Transfer Specialist manages the following for their respective regions:

  • Invention evaluation
  • Obtaining intellectual property protection
  • Marketing inventions
  • Negotiating license agreements
  • Advising on IP-related agreements and CRADAs

 Terri Hunter, PhD
Terri Hunter, PhD
813-579-7736
Terri.Hunter3@va.gov

Regional Technology Transfer Specialist for:
Montana, Wyoming, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Minnesota, Iowa, Wisconsin, Illinois, Michigan

Christopher Drabik, MS, JD
Christopher Drabik, MS, JD
202-443-5688
781-824-3224
Christopher.drabik@va.gov

Regional Technology Transfer Specialist for: Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island

     David Marks, JD
David Marks, JD
202-443-5609
David.Marks2@va.gov

Regional Technology Transfer Specialist for: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, District of Columbia (DC)

Chi Ng, MS
Chi Ng, MS
718-548-9000 ext: 6113
chi.ng@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:

  • Brooklyn Campus of the VA NY Harbor Healthcare System
  • Manhattan Campus of the VA NY Harbor Healthcare System
  • James J. Peters VA Medical Center (Bronx, NY)

 Patricia Cullum, M.Ed
Pattie Cullum, M.Ed
202-255-0613
Patricia.Cullum@va.gov

Regional Technology Transfer Specialist for: Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Nevada, Utah, Colorado, Arizona, New Mexico

 Rowan Wagner, MPH
Rowan Wagner, MPH
801-582-1565 ext. 4568
Rowan.Wagner@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:

  • George E. Wahlen Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center
  • Rocky Mountain Regional VA Medical Center

   Lee Sylvers, PhD
Lee Sylvers, PhD
813-505-6989
Lee.Sylvers@va.gov

Regional Technology Transfer Specialist for: California, Alaska, Hawaii, Georgia, Florida


 Brandy Wade, PhD
Brandy Wade, PhD
404-321-6111 ext. 204827
Brandy.Wade@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:

  • Atlanta VA Health Care System
  • Charlie Norwood VA Medical Center

 Grace S Yeh, MPH
Grace S Yeh, MPH
650-407-9386
grace.yeh@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:

  • San Francisco VA Health Care System
  • VA Palo Alto Health Care System
  • VA Northern California Health Care System

 Davis Becker
Davis Becker
davis.becker@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:

  • Greater Los Angeles VA Healthcare System
  • San Diego VA Healthcare System
  • Loma Linda VA Healthcare System
  • Long Beach VA Healthcare System

  Jenish Patel, PhD
Jenish Patel, PhD
202-213-6576
Jenish.Patel@va.gov

Regional Technology Transfer Specialist for: Kansas, Missouri, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, Texas, Louisiana, Puerto Rico

 Brandy Wade, PhD
Brandy Wade, PhD
404-321-6111 ext. 204827
Brandy.Wade@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:

  • Birmingham VA Medical Center
  • Tuscaloosa VA Medical Center

Stefan Susta, MBA
Stefan Susta, MBA
937-409-7993
Stefan.Susta@va.gov

Regional Technology Transfer Specialist for: 
Indiana, Ohio, Kentucky, West Virginia, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina

Emily Rosenthal, Ph.D.
Emily Rosenthal, Ph.D.
emily.rosenthal@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:
Louis Stokes Cleveland VA Medical Center

Technology Transfer Support Staff

Alicia Ming
202-351-1557
Alicia.Ming@va.gov

Program Specialist
Office management, royalty payments and distributions, patent administration and process improvement

Cynthia Schwarz
202-443-5690
Cynthia.Schwarz@va.gov

Program Analyst
Office management, knowledge management system, education development and management, and process improvement

Gloria Winford
202-443-5771
Gloria.Winford@va.gov

Program Analyst
Special Projects, policies and procedures, and technology transfer specialist support

Rebecca Megabiaw
202-701-7421
Harege.Megabiaw@va.gov

Program Specialist
Invention disclosure and certification intake and management, data analytics and visualization, and process improvement.

Mailing Address:
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Technology Transfer Program (14RDTT)
810 Vermont Ave. N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20420

Electronic Inquires:

Inquires related to the Invention Disclosures (ID) process or Inventor Certifications (IC): vattid@va.gov

Inquires related to CRADA issues (including process questions and eCRADA registry) or submission of annual reporting requirements: vhacottc@va.gov

Inquires related to either patent or royalty questions: vatechtp@va.gov



Questions about the R&D website? Email the Web Team.

Any health information on this website is strictly for informational purposes and is not intended as medical advice. It should not be used to diagnose or treat any condition.