Talk to the Veterans Crisis Line now
U.S. flag
An official website of the United States government

Office of Research & Development

print icon sign up for VA Research updates

Technology Transfer Program Contacts

John J. Kaplan, Ph.D., J.D. John J. Kaplan, PhD, JD
Director
202-417-5611
John.Kaplan@va.gov

 Ryan Davis, JD Ryan Davis, JD
Deputy Director for Policy and Operations
(202) 390-9086
Ryan.Davis7@va.gov

Click on the states to view Technology Transfer Specialists by region.

Technology Transfer Specialists by Region

Each Technology Transfer Specialist manages the following for their respective regions:

  • Invention evaluation
  • Obtaining intellectual property protection
  • Marketing inventions
  • Negotiating license agreements
  • Advising on IP-related agreements and CRADAs

Christopher Drabik, MS, JD
Christopher Drabik, JD,MS
202-443-5688
781-824-3224
Christopher.drabik@va.gov

Regional Technology Transfer Specialist for: Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island

     David Marks, JD
David Marks, JD
202-855-4848
David.Marks2@va.gov

Regional Technology Transfer Specialist for: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, District of Columbia (DC)

Chi Ng, MS
Chi Ng, MS
718-548-9000 ext: 6113
chi.ng@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:

  • Brooklyn Campus of the VA NY Harbor Healthcare System
  • Manhattan Campus of the VA NY Harbor Healthcare System
  • James J. Peters VA Medical Center (Bronx, NY)

Richard J. Bodnar, PhD
Richard J. Bodnar, PhD
412-360-2251
412-522-4271 (cell)
Richard.Bodnar@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:

  • Pittsburgh VA Healthcare System

Stefan Susta, MBA
Stefan Susta, MBA
937-409-7993
Stefan.Susta@va.gov

Regional Technology Transfer Specialist for: 
Indiana, Ohio, Kentucky, West Virginia, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina

Emily Rosenthal, Ph.D.
Emily Rosenthal, PhD
emily.rosenthal@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:
Louis Stokes Cleveland VA Medical Center

Richard Vermillion
Richard Vermillion, BS
richard.vermillion@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:

  • Ralph H. Johnson VA Medical Center, Charleston, SC
  • Wm. Jennings Bryan Dorn VA Medical Center, Columbia, SC

 Brandy Wade, PhD
Brandy Wade, PhD
404-321-6111 ext. 204827
Brandy.Wade@va.gov

Regional Technology Transfer Specialist for:
Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana

Renee N. Shaw, JM
Renee N. Shaw, JM
renee.shaw@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:

  • Atlanta VA Health Care System
  • Charlie Norwood VA Medical Center

Robert Masterson, PhD
Robert Masterson, PhD
robert.masterson@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:

  • Tennessee Valley Healthcare System

   Lee Sylvers, PhD
Lee Sylvers, PhD
813-240-1959
Lee.Sylvers@va.gov

Regional Technology Transfer Specialist for: California, Alaska, Hawaii, Florida

Kristine Moes
Kristine Moes, JD
813-894-4241
Kristine Moes kristine.moes@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:

  • Bay Pines Healthcare System
  • James A. Haley Veterans’ Hospital (Tampa)
  • Lake City VAMC
  • Malcom Randall VAMC, NF/SGVHS (Gainesville)
  • Miami VA Healthcare System
  • Orlando VA Medical Centers
  • West Palm Beach VAMC

 Grace S Yeh, MPH
Grace S. Yeh, MPH
650-407-9386
grace.yeh@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:

  • San Francisco VA Health Care System
  • VA Palo Alto Health Care System
  • VA Northern California Health Care System

 Davis Becker
Davis Becker
davis.becker@va.gov
Book an Appointment Online

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:

  • Greater Los Angeles VA Healthcare System
  • San Diego VA Healthcare System
  • Loma Linda VA Healthcare System
  • Long Beach VA Healthcare System

 Terri Hunter, PhD
Terri Hunter, PhD
Terri.Hunter3@va.gov

Regional Technology Transfer Specialist for:
Montana, Wyoming, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Minnesota, Iowa, Wisconsin, Illinois, Michigan

 Rebecca Holmes, PhD
Rebecca Holmes, PhD
rebecca.holmes@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:

  • Jesse Brown VA Medical Center (Chicago)
  • VA Illiana Health Care System (Danville)
  • Edward Hines Jr. VA Hospital (Hines)
  • William S. Middleton Memorial Veterans Hospital (Madison)
  • Marion VA Medical Center
  • Clement J. Zablocki Veterans Affairs Medical Center (Milwaukee)
  • Captain James A. Lovell Federal Health Care Center (North Chicago)
  • Tomah VA Medical Center (Tomah)

 Nicholas Cilz, PhD
Nicholas Cilz, PhD
nicholas.cilz@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:

  • Minneapolis VA Health Care System
  • St. Cloud VA Health Care System

 Anne Burkhart, JD
Anne Burkhart, JD
anne.burkhart@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:

  • VA Ann Arbor Healthcare System
  • John D. Dingell VA Medical Center (Detroit)
  • Battle Creek VAMC

  Jenish Patel, PhD
Jenish Patel, PhD
202-213-6576
Jenish.Patel@va.gov

Regional Technology Transfer Specialist for: Kansas, Missouri, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Texas, Puerto Rico

 Paige Zimerman, MS
Paige Zimerman, MS
314-242-9587
paige.zimerman@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:

  • Harry S. Truman Memorial VA Medical Center
  • Kansas City VA Medical Center
  • VA St. Louis Health Care System
  • John J. Pershing VA Medical Center
  • Robert J. Dole VAMC
  • VA Eastern Kansas Health Care System Dwight D. Eisenhower VA Medical Center
  • VA Eastern Kansas Health Care System Colmery-O’Neil VA Medical Center

 Bhoomija Hariprasad, MS
Bhoomija Hariprasad, MS
832-373-3203
bhoomija.hariprasad@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:

  • Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center
  • Dallas VA Medical Center
  • VA South Texas Health Care System
  • Olin E. Teague Veterans' Center

 John Beard, MBA
John Beard, MBA
john.beard3@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:

  • Central Arkansas Veterans Healthcare System, Little Rock, AR
  • Veterans Health Care System of the Ozarks, Fayetteville, AR
  • Oklahoma City VA Medical Center, Oklahoma City, OK
  • Jackson C. Montgomery VA Medical Center, Muskogee, OK

 Patricia Cullum, M.Ed
Pattie Cullum, M.Ed
202-255-0613
Patricia.Cullum@va.gov

Regional Technology Transfer Specialist for: Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Nevada, Utah, Colorado, Arizona, New Mexico

 Rowan Wagner, MPH
Rowan Wagner, MPH
801-582-1565 ext. 4568
Rowan.Wagner@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:

  • George E. Wahlen Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center
  • Rocky Mountain Regional VA Medical Center

Trina Voss, RTTP, CLP
Trina Voss, RTTP, CLP
503- 220-8262 ext. 58978
trina.voss@va.gov

Field Technology Transfer Specialist for:

  • VA Portland Health Care System

Technology Transfer Support Staff

Alicia Ming
202-351-1557
Alicia.Ming@va.gov

Program Specialist
Office management, royalty payments and distributions, financial management and process improvement

Rebecca Megabiaw
202-701-7421
Harege.Megabiaw@va.gov

Program Specialist
Patent Administration, data analytics and visualization, and process improvement

Gloria Winford
202-443-5771
Gloria.Winford@va.gov

Program Analyst
Special Projects, policies and procedures, and technology transfer specialist support

Todd Bell
Todd.Bell@va.gov

Program Specialist
Invention Disclosure and certification intake and management, data analytics and visualization, and process improvement

Loraine Kelley
Loraine.Kelley@va.gov

Program Specialist
Executive Assistant to the Director

Mailing Address:
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Technology Transfer Program (14RDTT)
810 Vermont Ave. N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20420

Electronic Inquires:

Inquiries related to VA Technology Transfer Program Knowledge Management System (KMS) vattpsophia@va.gov

Inquires related to the Invention Disclosures (ID) process or Inventor Certifications (IC): vattid@va.gov

Inquires related to CRADA issues (including process questions and eCRADA registry) or submission of annual reporting requirements: vhacottc@va.gov

Inquires related to either patent or royalty questions: vatechtp@va.gov



Questions about the R&D website? Email the Web Team

Any health information on this website is strictly for informational purposes and is not intended as medical advice. It should not be used to diagnose or treat any condition.